House Censures Tlaib

Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-MI) was censured by her House colleagues following a number of statements she made following the Oct. 7 Hamas terrorist attack in Israel. The rebuke was joined by a number of her Democratic colleagues.

The House’s Tuesday vote marked a bipartisan effort to criticize the Michigan Democrat following her comments.

The 212 Republican votes to censure Tlaib were joined by those of 22 Democrats. Rep. Rich McCormick (R-GA) introduced the resolution on Monday.

During the House floor debate, McCormick asked that if her previous comments were “not worthy of censure, what is? When you can call for the annihilation of a country and its people, if that’s not worthy of a censure, what is?”

The resolution accused Tlaib of “promoting false narratives regarding the October 7, 2023, Hamas attack on Israel and for calling for the destruction of the state of Israel.”

The Michigan representative criticized President Joe Biden on social media, stating that his silence in the conflict between Israel and Hamas was “deafening.” She said that the president was “complicit” with the Jewish state.

“A whole generation of children is being wiped out in front of us,” she wrote.

She separately wrote that Biden “supported the genocide of the Palestinian people.”

“Mr. President the American people are not with you on this one,” she said. “We will remember in 2024.”

Tlaib further used the phrase “from the river to the sea,” which is often interpreted as endorsing the erasure of the state of Israel and is used by Hamas.

Separately, Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL) wrote that the use of the phrase “means eradicating Israel and Jews. Period. Dressing it up in a new PR ploy won’t change that.”

“Only a return of hostages, eliminating Hamas and liberating Gaza from oppressive terror will save civilian lives and secure the peace, justice and dignity you seek,” Wasserman Schultz wrote.

The successful effort to censure Tlaib came after a failed measure introduced by Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA), which received 208 ‘yea’ votes and 213 ‘no’ votes.